top of page

Down By the Sea

Thursday morning I got up bright and early. I dressed warm and brought everything that I might possibly need, because I was headed to a place that has been on my bucket list for some time -- Brighton.

I took a train from Victoria station, and arrived at Brighton an hour or so later. I exited the station and the water was practically in front of me. However I couldn't really see it, because it started to rain.

I didn't care -- I was in Brighton, and I was going to make the most of it. I walked through the rain, taking in the city, as I headed straight towards the water with its famous stone beach.

I was almost at the bottom, and was about to round the corner when I was hit by the wind. I'm telling you, it nearly blew me right over. And the waves were angry and ginormous--it looked like it was straight from a apocalyptic movie.

Since I couldn't really see anything, I decided to go inland and seek shelter in a Pho restaurant. It was really good and warm (which was exactly what I needed, since my clothes were soaked). After lunch I went out again and explored The Lanes, before stopping in a chocolate shop and having a salted caramel hot chocolate. It was yummo.

When I finally emerged, the weather did a 180. It was clear skies, and the sun was casting everything in this beautiful golden glow. Finally, I could go to the ocean.

I practically ran down the steps towards the beach, and once my feet hit the stoney shore, the sound of the ocean roaring in my ears, I was in complete bliss.

After walking along the beach and collecting some shells, I went to the pier. I quickly walked through the arcade--got my fortune told by Zoltar--and watched the sun set.

Afterwards I stood on the beach a bit longer, soaking up every last bit before I had to go. It was strange going by myself, since I was always accompanied by a friend whenever I went out. But I found my journey to Brighton overall a successful one (even though it was stressful and I did get a bit lost on the way back). I enjoyed being by myself; it was my very own adventure.

In other news, today I walked on Abby Road--the exact crossroads The Beatles stood. It was awesome. Also, only a week to go and I'm home! How crazy is that?

Anyways. Brighton, thanks for having me. I hope to be back one day soon.

-Syd.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page