top of page

Castle on the Hill

This past weekend I went to Wales. The drive there took about four hours, but I didn't mind. As long as I had music or a good book to read, I'm set.

We first stopped in Cardiff Bay, and looked out over the water. We then took a short drive up to an abandoned Roman Amphitheater. It was soo green.

Next we went to Caerphilly Castle, which was stunning. It was surrounded by a large moat, and is famous for its partially destroyed leaning tower. It's angle is greater than that of Leaning Tower of Pisa! It was pretty cool. Also, we might have seen a couple dragons.

We stayed overnight in a hotel, but before we went to bed we went into town and had dinner at a pub, then headed back and played a couple rounds of cards. Golf is my game, don't mess with me.

The next day we left bright an early towards Big Pit to do some mining. (okay, we didn't mine, but we did go down there.) It was so dark and the tunnels were so low to the ground, that Emma and I had to hobble around like we had hunchbacks the whole time. Ashley was fine though.

Once we reached the surface again, we went to our final destination on our trip: Tintern Abbey. This was by far my favorite. It's completely in ruins and overtaken by nature, but is still so beautiful and striking. See for yourself.

It did rain, and it was super cold, but it was worth it.

-Syd.

(P.S. on November 4th my not-so-little sister turned 19. Hope you had a great day Kenz.)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page