top of page

La Temps De L'Amour

We took a train to Paris. We arrived in Charonne and lugged our stuff up four flights of narrow stairs before reaching our apartment. It was super cute, and had a great view from the balcony. The next several days go as follows:

Day 1: We took another free city tour. Our tour guide, Harry, was full of energy and was truly excited about the city. I couldn't help but feed off his excitement. We saw all the main attractions: Eiffel Tower, Point Zéro des Routes de France (it is said that if you stand on it, it means you will come back to Paris. Or, you could make a wish upon it), and Notre Dame.

Later in the day, after our tour, my friends and I were able to go inside Notre Dame. It was beautiful -- especially the stained glass windows. What made it even more special was that Mass was going on, so the church was filled with beautiful voices and music.

Day 2: Versailles. I've been here before a couple years ago, but I loved this visit for three reasons: I went with my friends, I got to see Marie Antoinette's Chateau, and fog. Lots and lots of fog.

After Versailles, we went to the famous Angelina's and got some hot chocolate and pastries. The hot chocolate is next level. It's pure liquid GOLD.

Day 3: This was an artsy day. We started off at Montmarte and Place du Tertre. This was super cool. We got to look at some great art made by local artists. Also, I had one of the best Onion Soups of my life. And also I got a crepe with nutella and coconut for three euros. Steal.

Next we went to the Louvre. I got to go see my favorite statue again after several years: the Hermaphrodite! She/he/it was a beautiful as ever. I love how you have to go around in a 360 to get the whole story. I also saw Venus, Mona Lisa, and a beautiful painted ceiling in the crowned jewels hall. It was decorated with greek gods, scenes representing the seasons, and had references to the months and horoscopes.

Day 4: We went to a little bookshop that quickly became my favorite attraction of the trip called Shakespeare and Company. It. Was. Amazing. I could spend forever in there. There were so many nooks and crannies, a poetry wall where people can stick up messages (which, of course I did. Maybe not as poetic as I can be, but it was the first thing that popped into my head), a piano, and a bookshop cat. I got a book called The Tiger and the Acrobat by Susanna Tamaro, and was able to get the Bookshop's official stamp stamped into the first page. I also got some random poetry in an envelope. When I opened it, I got "A Kiss on the Head" by Marina Tsvetaeva and "Sonnet 14" by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. It was typed on a typewriter! Do I say more?

I also got some Macaroons.

Saw where Hemingway and some other famous artists used to hang out back in the day.

And then we went to Musee D'Orsay and saw some art by Van Gogh, Degas, and Monet.

And the Arc De Triomphe!

We took the Chunnel home, and had a picnic the french way with a baguette, cheese, and grapes. It was delicious.

Overall, it was a fantastic ten days! Next thing to do on the activity list: sleep.

-Syd.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page