top of page

In a Week

Sunday I explored around London with my friends, and made some new ones. Roehampton had this scavenger hunt activity planned for all the Study Abroad kids, which ended up being really fun. We hit all the standard tourist attractions: London Eye, Tower Bridge, Big Ben...

I think the most exciting thing about that day was, however, when I found the British version of my Hippie Van mug. (Might have to go back and get it, sorry mum.)

Then it was Fresher's Week -- a whole week of fun, activities, and extravaganzas. A lot went down, so I'll just do a quick recap.

Day One: There was a party at the Bop -- connected to our on campus bar. There was music, dancing, UV lights, and we even had a silent disco. Which, actually, was really fun.

Ashley after she found out I was taking pictures of her again
peep the Snake Bite

Day Two: Junkyard Golf. This was super cool. It was this indoor mini golf course, made out of -- you guessed it -- junk. It was located in Shoreditch, which is about two hours away by bus and tube, so my friends and I went up early and explored. And so of course when I saw a record store, I just HAD to go in.

Day Three: We went to a club, The Grand. I've never been to a club before, so it was a really cool experience. It was only Roehampton students there, so that was cool. Everyone was chanting their college songs on the bus ride over. Which, I guess was cool too.

Day Four: After the club I was pretty tired, so I was glad this next activity was later in the day. We went to Thorpe Park, which was this huge rollercoaster park right on the river. We had the whole park to ourselves, and it was raining. It was creepily eerie being there at night, with most of the park being vacant. But it was still fun, my favorite ride was the Flying Fish. I'm not much of a thrill seeker so I didn't go on a lot of rides, but MAN. The donuts made up for it.

Day Five: Fresher's Fair. This was mostly for students to meet and sign up for student clubs and societies. I didn't sign up for anything, but Ashley convinced me to get posters, which she then bought as an early birthday present (thanks Ash). I got a Friends poster, a Miyazaki poster from Spirited Away, and a poster of a water color lotus flower.

Day Six: The Finale. The end of the extravaganza. Two bands came out and preformed - the fist were two guys and a guitar, the other three guys and beatboxing. Both were pretty sick.

So yeah, my week was pretty eventful. But on Monday, thats when the learning starts up. Class, here I come.

-Syd.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page