top of page

London Calling

On Tuesday, September 12th, I left for LAX. My parents dropped me off and my mum helped me check in, and then I was off on my own adventure.

I flew in to SFO Airport to meet up with Ashley, and then we both flew to London together. You have no idea how thankful I was to have Ash there with me.

Five movies later we landed, and we had a bit of an incident. Ashley wasn't feeling well and was very faint, so we sat on the plane until she was feeling better. Eventually the flight attendants wheeled her off the plane in a wheelchair because she still wasn't feeling well, and we rode one of those airport trolley cars all the way to customs. It was kinda scary, but the silver-lining out of all of it was that we skipped the whole immigration line and sailed right into baggage claim.

We were met by the Roehampton team at the entrance of Heathrow Airport, as well as other study abroad students (people from all over the world were there; Norway, Poland, Germany... it's crazy!) and rode a bus to Roehampton. And guys, it's amazing.

Fun Fact: this building was in Pride and Prejudice. Don't ask me which one.

I also got to meet up with Emma, another friend of mine from Chapman, who's also studying abroad here with me.

They gave us bedding and a kitchen set, before I dragged my stuff to Southlands College -- the area I would be living in.

I'm in B Block, flat 304. I met one of my flatmates, Brenna (my other flatmate Tim is arriving on Sunday) and my Flat Rep Lili. I get a private room, and a communal bathroom and kitchen.

My room. Pretty sweet, huh?

I have a small sink and a closet also in my room, which is nice. The heating and wifi is a bit dodgy, but hopefully an extra blanket and an ethernet cable can fix that.

What I think is the coolest about this campus is their pub. Ashley, Emma, and some other friends we met, all of us went there last night and had a couple drinks. Their signature drink - Snake Bite - was soo good. It has beer, cider, and blackcurrant in it. Like seriously, next level stuff.

Snake Bite
Ashley realizing I snapped a photo of her

This past week has been orientation and registration stuff, but next week is when the real fun begins.

Until next time,

-Syd.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page